top of page

Swirls Awards winning "ILeeria: The Chosen One" series Excerpt from book 1


“Can you imagine being without Roselyn for a century, Alex?” I know instantly this is going to lead to my worst kept secret of who my fated mate is. What this has to do with my new abilities, I have no idea, but we’re already steamrolling down that track leading to my part in the fated mate triangle like a runaway train.

“It would kill me.” Alex’s reply hauls me out of my head in time to see him wince slightly at the thought of being without his beloved Roselyn. My soul screams within, consumed with unreasonable jealousy.

Alice nods. “Then you know how Ileeria’s felt everyone of those days without her fated mate. Then double it.” She deadpans.

Alex grimaces. “That kind of torture only happens when you know who your mate is and you’re being separated from them.” He says, disbelievingly.

“She does and she is.” Alice says, simply.

His head and eyes snap to me. “Who is he?” He yells, suddenly irrationally angry. What did I miss? The sheer power of his fury renders me speechless and my chest begins to ache like someone is forcing a dull knife inside of it. I look away, not even remotely interested in answering his question. However, I am concerned about this phantom pain that rears its head whenever I defy Alex. The words, ‘When I defy Alex’, repeat themselves inside my head until I realize why. Oh damn, the fated mate commandments. How could I completely forget predestined soul mates are also mandated to obey each other or suffer a blast of pain sometimes strong enough to cripple an elephant?

“Ileeria, turn around!” He shouts and my feet swivel unwillingly, stopping when I face him, sparing me from the next flare-up of punishment from fate’s law being broken. I’m starting to think I should have spent my century without Alex rejoicing and not feeling disheartened by his refusal to love me. If this is the Fate’s idea of love, it’s painful and I’m not sure I want anything to do with it.

“Why are you mad, Alex?” Alice asks, probingly.

His head drops in utter confusion, then lifts again. “I don’t know.” He replies, angrily confused. The look on his face is comical. I mean really funny. I start to snicker. Alex spears me with a cutting glance. My mirth dies, immediately. He walks over to me, slowly. “Ileeria, who is he?” He asks again, quietly.

I decide to honor my previous promise to myself and keep my mouth shut though it costs me in the tolerance for pain department. It hurts like hell to deny him, but I think after a century of suffering, I’m a little stronger than the Fate’s wrath. I’ve been subjected to it long enough to know I can withstand just about anything they throw at me, including Alex’s interrogation.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page