top of page

"The Other Man" Book 1

Well, he’s done that and now it’s time for us both to go somewhere other than this bed.

Jané stops rotating her bottom suddenly and drives a knee forward with a goal of moving away. Quon’s fingers dig into her hips again, stopping all advancement.

“Where are you going, baby?” he asks, obviously surprised at her intended getaway. Usually she would cuddle with him until they both fell asleep. But, she is determined to start as he meant for her to go on, alone, no matter how much it hurts.

She wiggles in his grasp until his hands fall away then she crawls away with Quon’s essence gliding leisurely down her inner thigh. She stands beside the bed to smile back at him kneeling on it.

“I am going to take a shower. You can do the same afterwards or pack your shit and leave now… but remember to leave,” she insists smugly.

Quon’s thick lips fall open as his eyes widen.

“Jané, we just made love,” he bellows as his arms spread as wide as his eyes.

She lifts one finger in the air and wags it at him.

“No, we screwed, Quon. I made love to the man that I love. I don’t know you. But I enjoyed the hell out of Marilyn’s man. I wouldn’t tell her that by the way when you’re walking into her house at…” Jané trails off to lean over and get a quick look at the clock on the nightstand displaying 5:02 in the morning proudly. She straightens up.

“…Five in the morning. But I will give you this piece of advice, Quon. Do to Marilyn what you just did to me and she’ll forgive you. I promise,” she adds haughtily.

“This is my house too, Jané! I still live here,” he shouts suddenly, losing his entire cool.

She shakes her head.

“No, you don’t. You just told me it was mine to live in it without you, remember? Now you can keep your promise or I can fight you in court for it and air all of your dirty laundry to a judge that will probably give me half of your company. But that will take time and since we have no kids, you can be rid of me in thirty days legally with no contest. You wanted Marilyn. Now go be with her.” Her tone is so nonchalant even Jané has a hard time believing it is her talking after all she has been put through tonight. But she is not interested in things getting anymore harder or emotional between her and Quon.

“So it’s like that? You can just push me away like that,” he roars again, making her laugh at his emotional flare-ups when he was so cold earlier while asking her for a divorce.

Oh my, how far the mighty fall when the tables have turned.

“Oh now you want me to fight for you, Quon?” she asks on a giggle. “You didn’t want that either, remember? And yes I was prepared to fight for us. I couldn’t imagine a life without you. I even denied my fantasies of making love to you in every way possible and dealt with everything you put me through to keep you. But you don’t want to be held onto or want to hold onto me. Now you don’t have me. You should be happy.” She cannot understand why he is not when he is getting what he wants.

“Well I’m not happy! I didn’t know you wanted to try other things sexually!” he continues to shout while dropping his fists to his sides.

She begins to glare at the spoiled, selfish man before her.

“Well you better learn to be happy with Marilyn and you can forget about what we just did too.”

She smiles arrogantly. “But I know you won’t and I want you gone after I get out of the shower.”

Then she loses the smile and twists her head in true ticked off black woman fashion before saying, “We’re done, Quon.” Her voice is cold and hard and she knows he is not use to this.

Jané would gush over her husband every chance she got. Now, she is the one with shocking demands and giving hurtful revelations. She wallows in the new, stronger her that he made possible in only a couple of hours after tearing her to pieces. She guesses time does make a difference when someone needs to toughen up, though her wounds on her heart are nowhere near close to healing. But her will to get through and over this breakup has strengthened tremendously. She recognizes she is learning the hard way that it is okay to let go of people that hurt her time and time again no matter how terrified she is of being alone.

God, I could have gone my whole life loving and waiting for Quon, she thinks sorrowfully. But he moved on while not caring how she would feel about it or appreciating anything she did for his creature comforts. Now, Jané knows that he did not deserve her or anything that she did for him.

“So you used me,” he shrieks in an unmanly pitch.

She lifts a finger to tap her lips as if lost in thought.

“Not at first, Quon, but it quickly turned into that and you were even better in bed than I ever imagined. I thought sex didn’t get any better than being with you and then you topped your damn self,” she smirks and wobbles her head. “That was amazing what we just did by the way. You should be proud of yourself. But… don’t tell Marilyn about it,” she mocks then laughs out loud at her own black humor.

“So you’re just going to tell me to leave?”

She huffs, tired of the conversation and going in circles with him.

“Isn’t that what you wanted? You kicked my ass to the curb because you obviously found something better in Marilyn. Well now I’m on the curb waving goodbye to you. The pressure is off, Quon. Now go. Leave me behind again. I’m fine with it,” she hisses.

“No, you’re not fine, Jané! You’re trying to hurt me!”

She walks around the bed, moving towards the bathroom resolved to be through with this dialogue once and for all.

“The only one that causes pain around here is you, Quon. Marilyn could not get from you what you weren’t willing to give and now you’ve cheated on her too. You can’t get mad because you’re getting what you want: a way out.”

She stops in the bathroom doorway, flips the light switch on, and looks back over her shoulder.

“Now take the out, stop yelling, and start packing. I’ll have a lawyer contact you soon.”

Then she slams the bathroom door close and locks it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page